Today I’m going to share with you my pattern for my pokeballs. I’m going to write out the pattern and hopefully the next time I make one, I plan on taking pictures of the process. I do not work in the round like some people might when making something like this. I think it looks more seamless that way, but that’s just my option.

Materials Needed:

  • Worst Weight Yarn in White, Black, and Red. (I just used Red Heart Super Saver)
  • A few ounces of Polyfil
  • Size 4.0 crochet hook
  • Yarn needle

 

First I start with making the button.

Starting with white Yarn.

Start with a magic circle. ch 1, 7 sc in the round, FO leaving a long tail. I usually just cut off the tail from the magic circle because typically it’s able to hold it’s own.

With Black Yarn:

Start with the magic circle. ch 1, 7 sc in the circle, sl st to ch 1

Ch 1, 2 sc in each sc, slst to ch 1, FO leaving a long tail.

 

Sew white circle on to the black circle and sit aside.

 

Now for the ball!

 

Starting with the red yarn.

Round 1: Start with the magic circle, ch 1, 6 sc in the circle, sl st into ch 1. (6)

Round 2: ch 1, 2 sc in each sc, sl st into ch 1 (12)

Round 3: ch 1, *sc in next sc, 2 sc in next sc* around, sl st into ch 1 (18)

Round 4: ch 1, *sc in next 2 sc, 2 sc in next sc* around sl st into ch 1 (24)

Round 5: ch 1, *sc in next 3 sc, 2 sc in next sc* around sl st into ch 1 (30)

Round 6: ch 1, *sc in next 4 sc, 2 sc in next sc* around, sl st into ch 1 (36)

Round 7: ch 1, *sc in next 5 sc, 2 sc in next sc* around, sl st into ch 1 (42)

Round 8: ch 1, sc in each st around, sl st into ch 1 (42)

Round 9: ch 1, sc in each st around, sl st into ch 1, FO (42)

 

Change to black yarn

Round 10 and 11: ch 1, sc in each st around, sl st into ch 1, FO (42)

 

Change to white yarn

Round 12 and 13: ch 1, sc in each st around, sl st into ch 1 (42)

Round 14: ch 1, *sc in next 5 sc, dec in next 2 st* around, sl st into ch 1 (36)

Round 15: ch 1, *sc in next 4 sc, dec in next 2 st* around, sl st into ch 1 (30)

 

This is when I sew in the button, usually right on the seam.

 

Round 16: ch 1, *sc in next 3 sc, dec in next 2 st* around, sl st into ch 1 (24)

Round 17: ch 1, *sc in next 2 sc, dec in next 2 st* around, sl st into ch 1 (18)

Round 18: ch 1, *sc in next st, dec in next 2 st* around, sl st into ch 1 (12)

 

This is where I begin stuffing my pokeball. I like to make my pokeballs pretty firm but it’s up to you how firm or soft you’d like your pokeball to be.

 

Round 19: ch 1, *dec in next 2 st* around, sl st into ch 1, FO leaving a long tail (6)

 

I use the tail to sew the top of the pokeball closed.

 

Now if you don’t want to make your own pokeball, I actually have a listing on Etsy that you can own your own without going through all the work of making one!

 

https://www.etsy.com/listing/467797465/

 

Leave a Reply

